GolfPlus News

Saturday, 6 August 2016

Nike Quits Golf

Nike to exit golf equipment business

Nike Golf announced Wednesday that it plans to "transition out" of golf equipment, instead focusing solely on its footwear and apparel business.

No specified timetable for the transition was announced. The decision means that Nike will soon stop producing clubs, balls and golf bags.

"We're committed to being the undisputed leader in golf footwear and apparel," Nike brand president Trevor Edwards said in a statement. "We will achieve this by investing in performance innovation for athletes and delivering sustainable profitable growth for Nike Golf."

Nike made a notable splash in the golf industry when it signed a young Tiger Woods to an equipment and apparel contract in 1996. It has grown as a golf brand since, notably signing Rory McIlroy to a 10-year deal in 2013 worth a reported $200 million.

McIlroy's win at the 2014 PGA Championship remains the most recent major title for a player using Nike equipment.

Last month Nike announced that golf sales fell 8.2 percent to $706 million for the fiscal year that ended May 31, making it the lowest-performing business segment of the company over that time period. According to corporate filings, Nike Golf sales peaked in 2013, with revenues of $792 million.

While Woods has been the brand's most notable representative for the past two decades, he hasn't hit a competitive shot in nearly a year while recovering from multiple back procedures. According to Woods' agent, Mark Steinberg, plans are already underway to find Woods' next equipment provider for his eventual return to competition.

"Clearly he and I need to be thinking about a change on the hard goods side," Steinberg told "He and I have discussed at length the plan for that, and feel comfortable with what we're going to do going forward. But clearly there's likely going to be a change."

In addition to Woods and McIlroy, other notable pros currently using Nike equipment include Michelle Wie, Suzann Pettersen, Brooks Koepka, Tony Finau, Russell Henley, Paul Casey and Jhonattan Vegas.

Hero Women's Professional Golf Tour 2016 - Leg 12

Hero Women's Professional Golf Tour 
2016 - Leg 12
 Sharmila Nicollet clinches her maiden title of the season

Hyderabad, 5th August 2016: Hero Motor Corp sponsored Sharmila Nicollet won the 12th Leg of the Hero Women's Professional Golf Tour at the Hyderabad Golf Club here on Friday after holding her nerves in playoff against Neha Tripathi.

The two players had to repeat the 18th hole four times before the issue was finally settled in favour of the Bengaluru golfer. Sharmila's card on the day comprised of bogeys on the 4th, 8th, 12th, and 18th holes. She also carded a triple on 16th hole. Her birdies came on the 6th, 10th, and 11th holes to finish with a score of 228 after 54 holes.

Giving Sharmila a run for her money was Hero Order of Merit Leader Neha Tripathi. She looked in tremendous form as she had the best score of the day of 1 over 72. Her card comprised of birdies on the 6th, 16th and 17th holes, and bogeys on the 3rd, 13th, 14th and 15th holes, to finish with a score 228 after 54 holes which was identical to Sharmila's total.

Overnight leader Amandeep Drall had an indifferent start as she carded a double bogey on the very first hole. Her front nine comprised of bogeys on the 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 7th and 8th holes, and her lone birdie of the day came on the 4th. Her back nine comprised of a bogey on the 17th hole and double on the 13th. She finished third with a total score 231 after 54 holes.

Pune's Shweta Galande had an incredible start to the round as she carded an eagle on the very first hole, but failed to stitch together a series of consistent shots. She played an even par front nine, but it was her back nine which spoilt the chart for her. She carded double bogeys on the 12th and 18th and also a triple on the 17th hole. Her two birdies of the day came on the 10th and 15th holes, and her lone bogey of day came on the 13th.

Delhi's Ankita Tiwana finished 5th with a total score of 236 after 54 holes, followed by Kapurthala's Gursimar Badwal with a total score of 237 after 54 holes. Delhi's Ayesha Kapur finished 7th with a total score of 238 after 54 holes. Bengaluru's Trisha Sunil and Chandigarh's Saaniya Sharma finished with identical scores of 240 to be tied for the 8th spot.

 The tour now moves to the capital city of Delhi at the picturesque Delhi Golf Club from the 20th to the 23rd of September, 2016.

Wednesday, 3 August 2016



A total of 14 Asian Tour members and four other Asian golfers have confirmed their participation for next month’s Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

They will be among the 120 men and women who will create golfing history at the world’s greatest sporting spectacle when the sport makes its long-awaited return into the Olympic Games program after 112 years.

Korea’s Byeonghun An and Thailand’s Thongchai Jaidee are among the highest ranked Asian players in 10 th  and 11 th  place respectively on the Final Olympic Golf Rankings.

An will fly the Korean flag together with compatriot Jeunghun Wang, who became the youngest ever player to secure back-to- back wins in European golf history with his triumphs in Morocco and Mauritius in May.

Thongchai, the only player to hold an unprecedented three Asian Tour Order of Merit crowns, will spearhead Thailand’s charge alongside 2013 Merit champion, Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

India will be represented by Anirban Lahiri and S.S.P. Chawrasia while current Order of Merit leader Marcus Fraser and Scott Hend, a nine-time Asian Tour winner, will bid to win the medals for Australia.

Malaysia’s Danny Chia and Gavin Green will be part of the 60-man field which will also feature Philippines’ Miguel Tabuena, Bangladeshi Siddikur Rahman and the Chinese duo of Wu Ashun and Li Hao-tong.

Other Olympic-bound golfers include Pan Cheng-tsung and Lin Wen-tang from Chinese Taipei and Japan’s Yuta Ikeda.

Asian Tour member Adilson da Silva of Brazil will carry the local hopes at the Reserva de Marapendi Golf Course where the golf tournament will be staged from August 11- 20

The announcement of the confirmed places in Rio de Janeiro comes at the end of the two-year qualification process to identify the full list of players eligible to be entered by their respective NOCs in accordance with the qualification criteria.